Portsmouth clubs & organizations

TCC's student clubs and organizations offer diverse opportunities for you to to get involved in your campus and the community. Joining a club or organization can help you make new friends; develop leadership skills; support causes important to you; and put your classroom knowledge to use.  

Find your club and get involved today! 

Have questions about starting a student organization or club, promoting upcoming events, or reserving space for meetings? Contact:

Alicia Philips
Associate Director, Portsmouth Student Center
Phone: 757-822-2929
Email: aphillips@tcc.edu

Academic-Related

Art League

Purpose: Expand educational opportunities of student artists, encourage interaction between art students and Visual Arts Center alumni, promote independent art events, advocate for student needs at TCC and promote creative ideas and the diverse interests of student artists.

Advisor:
Ed Francis
efrancis@tcc.edu
757-822-1893

Shelley Brooks
sbrooks@tcc.edu
757-822-2878

Criminal Justice Organization

Purpose: Provide students with educational and networking opportunities in law enforcement.

Advisor:
Richard James
rjames@tcc.edu
757-822-2123

Student Nursing Association (SNA)

Purpose: Mentor the professional development of future nurses and assist in the facilitation of their entrance into the profession of nursing by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.

Advisor:
Catherine Merritt
cmerritt@tcc.edu
757-822-2738

TCC Student Chapter of The American Welding Society

Purpose: To share welding employment opportunities, skills and techniques as well as offer community assistance.

Advisors:
Walter L. Duke, Jr.
wduke@tcc.edu
757-822-2004

Marcus Moody
mmoody@tcc.edu
757-822-2771

Honor Societies

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Chi Mu Chapter

Purpose: Organize, recognize and elevate high achievers by offering scholarships as well as career and graduate networking opportunities.

Advisor:
Dr. Nicole Wilson
nwwilson@tcc.edu
757- 822-2172

Gia Lawrence
glawrence@tcc.edu
757-822-2671

Leadership

Student Government Association (SGA)

Purpose: Establish channels of student-faculty-administration communication, to develop campus and college activities, to encourage participation in campus and college life, to develop student responsibilities, and to protect individual and student group freedoms in all areas.

Advisors:
Alicia Phillips
aphillips@tcc.edu
757-822-2929

Gabrielle Pennington
gpennington@tcc.edu
757-822-2640

James Smith
jsmith@tcc.edu
757-822-2628

President:
Jamar Davis
jadavis@sga.tcc.edu

Vice President:
Imani Elsey
ielsey@sga.tcc.edu

Service

Rotaract Club

Purpose: Promote scholarship, the development of leadership, and services and cultivation of fellowship among qualified TCC students.

Advisor:
Crystal Marin
cmarin@tcc.edu
757-822-2139

Specialized

Anime Club

Purpose: Promote the appreciation of ancient and modern Japanese culture through animation and graphic novels as well as build positive social interaction and camaraderie among students; allow students to enjoy a friendly, peaceful, competitive environment and to increase knowledge of gaming culture and careers.

Advisor:
Kim Lee
klee@tcc.edu
757-822-2410

Cornelia Taylor
cztaylor@tcc.edu
757-822-2376

Electric Lady

Purpose: To build a safe place to support women’s mental health.

Advisor:
Alicia Phillips
aphillips@tcc.edu
757-822-2929

Looking for help?

Send us your questions
* All fields are mandatory